Arse Elektronika 2008: Opening Night

Prixxx Arse Elektronika 2008 Awards Ceremony

@ CELLspace / 2050 Bryant Street, San Francisco / September 25 / 8pm, doors open at 7pm

An unobjectionable award for sex machines, orgasmotrons and teledildonics

A gala hosted by monochrom's Johannes Grenzfurthner and info maniac David Dempsey
Featuring Annalee Newitz, Jonathan Mann aka GameJew and many non-human guest stars.

We want to present the winners of Prixxx Arse Elektronika on September 25, 2008.

The winners will be honored with the "Golden Kleene" (*)

There was a young man named Kleene
Who invented a fucking machine.
Concave or convex,
It fit either sex,
And was remarkably easy to clean!

(limerick, attributed to John von Neumann)

Prixxx Arse Elektronika 2008 will be a dignified occasion -- and so we invite you to dress up properly. Surprise us with sex and science fiction related costumes... and maybe win a "Golden Kleene" yourself!

Presentation of Arse Elektronika Anthology "pr0nnovation?"

@ CELLspace / 2050 Bryant Street, San Francisco / September 25 / 8pm, doors open at 7pm

It is our pleasure and privilege to present you with the first Arse Elektronika Anthology: "pr0nnovation?"

From the depiction of a vulva in a cave painting to the newest internet porno, technology and sexuality have always been closely linked. No one can predict what the future will bring, but history indicates that sex will continue to play an essential role in technological development. Is it going too far to assume that research in nanotechnology and genetic engineering will be influenced by our sexual needs? The question is not whether these technologies alter humanity, but how they do so.

Edited by Johannes Grenzfurthner, Gnther Friesinger, Daniel Fabry.
Published by RE/Search Publications (San Francisco) in cooperation with monochrom.

Featuring: Timothy Archibald, Peter Asaro, Thomas Ballhausen, Binx, Violet Blue, Jonathan Coopersmith, Mark Dery, Thomas Edlinger, Johannes Grenzfurthner, Ema Konstantinova, Tina Lorenz, Stefan Lutschinger, Kyle Machulis, Aaron Muszalski, Annalee Newitz, Carol Queen, Thomas Roche, Autumn Tyr-Salvia, Frank Apunkt Schneider, Katie Vann, Rose White, Amanda Williams, Katherina Zakravsky.